Concealed Weapons Permit
Online application processing is now available through the Colbert County Sheriff's Office!
If you are a resident of Colbert County, Alabama and wish to apply for a Concealed Carry Permit, please click the link below to be directed to our online application process. This link will allow you to complete the application for both a new permit and a renewal permit. You can make payment through our secure online payment process.
After fully completing the application you will receive an email and text confirmation for your payment when the application has been approved. This process will take approximately 7 working days and you can then come to the Sheriff's Office to have your picture taken and pick up your Concealed Carry Permit Card.
This application and the necessary background check that is required will only be valid for 30 days. If you do not come to the office within the allotted 30 day period your payment will be refunded and you will have to re-apply.
The Colbert County Sheriff's Office processes paper applications in the office for Concealed Carry Permits Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. Residents who do not use the online process can obtain an application from the Sheriff's Office or print one from the link below.
PRINTABLE Pistol Permit Application
Fees for Concealed Carry Permits are:
- $15 per year for individuals up to age 59
- $5 per year for individuals age 60 and above.
Online fees can be paid by Debit Card or Credit Card and fees in the office can be paid by cash or check.
- Alabama Gun Law Information
- Alabama Gun Bill Act 2013-283
- Under Age 21 Pistol Permit Information
- Alabama Attorney General's Office Gun Law Information
- Warning Sign for Posting
- Warning Sign for Posting -- Postcard size
The following states honor Concealed Carry Permits that are issued in the State of Alabama if you are 21 and older
The State of Alabama allows Concealed Carry Permits to be issued beginning at the age of 19.
Alabama resident who is 18 years of age and is a service member or a retired or honorably discharged military veteran may apply for issuance or renewal of a concealed carry permit valid for one year or five years.
However, not all states will honor the permits for anyone under the age of 21.
The following states WILL NOT honor any handgun license or permit issued to a person under the age of 21: